You are here : Home > Judges and judging guidelines
More Information
    Judges and Judging Criteria

    Meet the SA Chefs Competitions Director

    Jodi-Ann Pearton

    Jodi-Ann Pearton is the Competitions Director of The South African Chefs Association. She is a passionate and driven individual who owns The Food Design Agency, a business focused on product, recipe and menu development as well as food styling and inspirational upliftment.

    Jodi-Ann has won almost every culinary competition in South Africa, including the coveted By Invitation Only and Sunday Times Chef of the Year titles. She has also competed abroad in various competitions winning many gold medals. Jodi-Ann believes that every dream that an individual dreams can come true and that if it does not hurt to achieve it, it is not worth it.

    Jodi-Ann is accredited as a WACS Level B judge

     Read Jodi-Ann's overview of competition cookery here

    SACA-approved judges        

    Key to judging levels: 

    WACS Level A
    WACS Level B
    A: National level judge with experience in international judging
    B: National level judge
    C: Apprentice judge   

    If anyone is left off the list or if there are errors they are to please email

    For requests for judges please contact

    Adrian Vigus-Brown C  
    Allister Esau A
    Andrew Atkinson WACS Level B
    Andrew Unsworth C
    Andy Cordier B
    Arnold Tanzer A
    Bradley Kavanagh B  
    Brian McCune A  
    Bruce Burns WACS Level B
    Carianne Wilkinson B  
    Caryn England B  
    Charl Gyzen WACS Level B  
    Claire Blinkhorn-Street C  

    Coovashan Pillay


    Craig Elliot WACS Level B  
    Dayn Kruger C
    Dewald Kotze B  
    Edward Clegg B  
    Fatima Stanley C  
    Garth Shnier WACS Level A  
    George Georgiou WACS Level B  
    Gunther Biessel B  
    Hanroe Erasmus B  

    Heinz Brunner
    Henrico Grobbelaar


    Henrik Jonsson WACS Level B  
    Hilary Biller C  
    Jackie Cameron B  
    James Khoza WACS Level B  
    Jeff Schueremans A  
    Jelele Mokhine C  
    Jerome Norton WACS Level B  
    Jodi-Ann Pearton  WACS Level B  
    John Boehler  C  
    Julian Cohen B  
    Keiron Reynolds WACS Level B  
    Kevin Gibbs A  
    Kevin Miller B  
    Leon Hatton-Jones WACS Level B  
    Lorraine Van Dyk C  
    Lynette Berringham C  

    Manfred Muellers
    Marietjie Scholtz
    Marli Roberts

    Mary Worthington C  
    Marlise Mostert C  
    Martin Kobald WACS level A  
    Mervyn Davies B  
    Michael Collings C  
    Morne Stroh B  
    Nadin Pospech-Demmler WACS Level B  
    Nadeem Raja B  
    Neil Olverman WACS Level B  
    Nicholas Froneman WACS Level B  
    Nicholas Van Der Walt B  
    Pam Nel C  
    Pete Goffe Wood A  
    Peter Robertson A  
    Pinky Maruping WACS Level B  
    Richard Pearce WACS Level B  
    Sean Webber B  
    Sharmaine Dixon B  
    Shaun Munro B  
    Shaun Smith B  
    Siyabulela Kobo B  
    Stephen Billingham WACS Level B  
    Stuart Cason WACS Level B  
    Stuart McClarty WACS Level B  
    Tammy Henton C  
    Vasu Govender B  
    Viktor Stampher B  
    Warren Frantz C  


    Useful judging information, rules and regulations

    Click here to download  Judges working score sheet

    Click here to download a Kitchen Judging sheet

    Click here to download the General Competition Rules and Requirement